Twitter Don’ts or why I wont follow back.

Are you a marketer, on twitter for the sole purpose of selling a new widget or health potion? Or, someone that collects followers not unlike trophies?  Perhaps you got suckered, err bought some twitter traffic generating scheme program?

You shouldn’t send out Dm’s talking about gaining 10k followers and have 300. Also, if you are following 5000 and have 1/2 that in followers and under 100 posts? Guess wht, Im not interested in that either. Nor do I care to read updates that are nothing more than regurgitated tweets from others, or tweets that are all about Urls to reports, adult sites or marketing bullshit.  WTF would I care about that?

I am rather random sometimes I’ll follow person a but not b. Try to engage people. If Im not doing that, I won’t gain any new people and honsetly I’m ok with that. I know we all started as neophytes here and that’s fine. We all start somewhere. if I don’t follow back now I may later on after you’ve actually typed something. We don’t all have to share the same interests, that would be boring as hell wouldn’t it? Nor do I have to agree with your every point of view., I like to be challemged, forced out of my cave and made to face th world in all it’s unfiltered ugliness. You may not change my mind, but you might get me to examine why I feel a certain way.

So, if you want followers, engage people in discussions, share your passions. They will come. It took me months to get past the 100 follower mark. If I wanted everyone, Id have over 100o now. But Im good where I am. No I can’t possibly talk to 527 people. But I still like reading what they post, or there would be no point in following, right?

Also if you follow me, talk to me once in awhile, let me now you’re there. Twitter is sometimes slow in telling me I have new followers.

So, after reading this, if you still want to follow me, by all means please do. Just make sure you’re not spammy or scamming.

Thanks for reading.

Iggy

One thought on “Twitter Don’ts or why I wont follow back.

Leave a comment